Relaxation

Mr. Wonderful and I have the glorious opportunity to have a few kid free days this week. I say glorious because as parents of four kids who are adorable yet constantly keep us busy, we need a moment of rest every once in awhile. And we were long overdue.

We got the kids securely tucked away with relatives (thanks mom and dad!) and ran away to the Ozarks. 

Sidebar: running away as a grownup is awesome! You get to pick your car candy, you’re in charge of the music on your road trip and you can decide when to take a rest stop. Or four.

If you haven’t ever been to the Ozarks, you should put it on your list. Missouri is gorgeous! Hills and trees and Table Rock Lake-the whole area makes me relax down to my very bones.

This little getaway is exactly what we needed: to reconnect, sleep, have fun, be silly, did I mention sleep? When I woke up this morning at 10:18 am I couldn’t believe it-it’s been years since I could do that with all the early risers in my house!

My body and my mind just needed a break. My mind seems to need longer to unwind than my body as it’s still revving pretty hard. It helped that we focused solely on fun today-



I’ve always wanted to take an old timey picture and today we finally did! Check out my handsome gunslinger! I could totally dress up as a saloon girl every day. Who doesn’t love a boa and fishnets?

So for the next few days we have nowhere to be, no one to be responsible for but ourselves, and no time to worry about. 

Hallelujah!



(Our home away from home-ahhhhh!)

Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

4 thoughts on “Relaxation

Leave a Reply

