Hindsight

I’ve been thinking about hindsight a lot lately. How sometimes I wish I had the benefit of hindsight in the moment rather than later. I could save myself a lot of trouble.

Of course, then maybe I wouldn’t learn the lessons I’m supposed to, or maybe they wouldn’t stick with me so well if I didn’t have to learn them the hard way.

But wouldn’t it be awesome to know you’re headed in the right direction sometimes?

My name is Meredith, and I am a leaper.

I tried to type the word leaper and autocorrect wanted me to say leader. Apparently my leaping makes both Mr. Wonderful and autocorrect uncomfortable.

Leaping is often where I’m most comfortable. Maybe that sounds strange, but that free-falling feeling when things are changing and you’re weightless and the potential is there for new beginnings and wonderment to happen is a kind of freedom I long for.

It’s the landings I sometimes have problems with.

That moment right before impact where I realize I probably should zigged rather than zagged is a real thought-provoker. Where everything goes in slow motion as the ground is looming before me and I actually have time to think all of my driving words before I hit the hard earth-now that’s the time for some deep self-introspection.

Wow, could hindsight have saved me some bumps and bruises and gaping open wounds along my journey!

Honestly, the wounds themselves often aren’t as bad as the process of mending back together. During the healing is when skin stretches and stitches tighten and scabs form. Bones knit together, bruises fade. It takes time. And medicine for healing to begin and continue. And tenderness from those caring for you.

And in this time, appreciation grows. Gratitude for abilities taken for granted or working body parts is restored. Analysis of the leap itself can take place as you’re focused in on your healing.

And learning happens. Healing happens. Growth takes place.

So maybe, as much as I wish for hindsight in the moment, I should be happy for the hard fought lessons learned and growth endured. Because that is what brought me to here.

And here is a really good place. 

©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

4 thoughts on “Hindsight

  1. This is something I struggle with as well. For me though, it’s the leaping part I have struggles with sometimes. Sometimes I get to scared and I end up missing on some great things because of that. I am working on getting better at that, even if I am scared shitless lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

