Denial

It’s official, I’m in denial.

I don’t believe I’m going to have a middle schooler this fall. I can’t believe it’s already May. My bitty baby can’t possibly be almost 18 months old. And I don’t believe that my day tomorrow looks like my secretary totally screwed up my calendar. 

Oh wait. I don’t have a secretary-that was me.

Argh! I need to be in two places at once and Mr. Wonderful will be gone and I’m up to my eyeballs in children (literally-my 11 year old is almost looking me in the eye). And of course we have a dentist appointment, a special Mother’s Day celebration (for which each kid has to provide a dozen homemade cookies which means all the moms have to provide the cookies. Does anyone else see the problem here?) and I have a particularly busy work day.

It’s not even tomorrow and I’m tired.

But to attack this day I’m going to have to count my blessings, look for the silver lining, find the pot at the end of the rainbow and all other positive clichés you can think of. 

So here goes.

My baby’s so sweet when he wakes up. He always gives me a tight, lingering hug after I change his diaper in the morning.

And my 7 year old asked if I wanted him to wear a tie to the Mother’s Day celebration. A tie! He’s so excited and it warms my heart.

And Mr. Wonderful gladly takes on extra work to support his family.

And though there’s been bad weather in my area today (tornadoes, flooding, thunderstorms), there haven’t been any fatalities. The strangest thing that happened was a tiger reserve had some damage so everyone living in that area is supposed to stay in their homes as they have not accounted for all the tigers!

So today, in preparation for tomorrow I’m fixing my eyes on good and God and tomorrow is going to be amazing!

©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

6 thoughts on “Denial

  1. I try wearing really high heels when near my 12 year old, it tricks my senses into thinking he’s not as tall therefore not as old as he really is. 🙂
    Great post! Glad that you guys have stayed safe in the tornadoes. I love this time of year, but tornado season is nerve wracking.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

