Organize Me!

I wish I was one of those ladies who had a naturally organized home. I truly need it, especially with as many moving parts as we have around here.

But it’s a weird cycle when organization’s not your gift. You need to get things organized before you can organize. 

Who has time for that?

I don’t necessarily need a clean house; I just long to know where everything is: a place for everything and everything in its place.

Except.

I already have a place for everything. And I have five other people who sometimes decide a new place is in order.

How do you combat this???

No seriously, how?

We moved last year into a wonderful home that I love and adore. There is a lot of storage and there’s a lovely upstairs which we’ve dubbed the Kid Zone. I can shut the door to the noise and mess and voila! Peace and quiet.

Or as much quiet as four kids can muster during waking hours.

I long for the neatly organized offices and bathrooms and kitchens I see when peruse Pinterest. Are these for real? Do any of y’all live like this?

But then I realize I’m me and this isn’t my gift and while I will continue to strive to know where more of my stuff is, my creative side still needs just enough chaos, just enough mess to keep it real. 

But I wouldn’t turn down a cleaning lady.

(Photo credit operationorganizationbyheidi.com) ©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

5 thoughts on “Organize Me!

  1. I have a love/hate relationship with Pinterest! I love the inspiration I get from looking at stuff on it, but then hate how I feel inadequate when the reality of having kids, dogs and a husband who doesn’t share your desire for a tidy home doesn’t measure up. As long as whatever system you use works, that’s all that matters! You’ll go mad trying to change all of them to do it another way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The best thing to remember is that your house is LIVED IN – it is not a museum for all the world to see. There will be toys in places that you didn’t even know where in your house. Food that a child has hidden in a cabinet to get out of eating it. Not to mention the crayon and paint marks on the walls. As for those people that have time for all that Pinteresty (sp?) type of stuff I have decided that they only borrow other peoples children to use as props for the pictures! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

