Keeping It Real

As the Ringmaster of my Traveling Circus, I often find myself in the midst of weird situations. My daughter has this imaginary friend named Jake. From State Farm. And he’s “got brown skin like bubba.”

Then there’s the tween-turning-teen-too-rapidly-for-me who has just started enjoying the fun of sleepovers. This means a herd of boys come through my kitchen, wipe out my pantry in a swarm of biblical proportion locusts, and leave only wrappers, crumbs, and a boy funk that doesn’t dissipate as soon as I would like.

Sweet baby boy has become ever more curious, enjoying opening every drawer, door and cupboard he can find. We’ve quickly learned that all outside doors must be locked or he’ll end up outside with only Charlie the Service Dog as his canine babysitter.

The seven year old is trying his hardest to do all the “school” we have him in this summer: speech therapy, occupational therapy. He looked at me one day and said, “Mama, I thought it was supposed to be summer!”

Me too, little man.

And of course, we have weekly wrestling matches with the VA, the doctors, the counselors and the Vet Center to help Mr. Wonderful and I find our way through this maze and haze of PTSD. It’s a really steep learning curve with lots of pop quizzes. I’m usually an A student, but this one has me stumped lots of days.

I have this terrific job that lets me work from home and meet awesome people in my community. I executive direct a foundation that I’ve loved for a dozen years and hope to continue at for many more.

Oh, and I’m trying to come back from taking a month off from book publicity, marketing events, signings, speaking engagements, much to my publisher’s chagrin. I took time off to be with family, which will always be my first priority. The powers that be didn’t think that would be the best idea but I know in my heart if I keep the important stuff at the top of the list, I won’t regret it, no matter how many books I sell or don’t.

Things have been even more circus-y around here than usual, and I’ve been needed at home. Period. There’s no worry or wishes or way I would’ve done this time any different. I know it’s not the way you should do things if you want to sell books. But I want my kids to grow from amazing little humans to amazing big humans and this summer I just needed to make sure I was present.

Here.

Available for all my kiddos and Mr. Wonderful.

The rest will fall into place, working it’s way into our five ring Traveling Circus however it will. And I am beyond positive I’m going to look back on this time and be so glad that I made these choices.

Anything going on with y’all that has involved choices that others disagreed with? Leave me a comment, I’d love to hear that I’m not alone!

Blessings friends:)

(Photo credit Meredith Shafer 2015) I would love to connect with you on Facebook or Instagram at My Pink Champagne Life or Twitter @MyPinkChampLife. Swing by and say hello!

3 thoughts on “Keeping It Real

Leave a Reply

