Romance…Parent-Style

When you have four kids ages 11, 7, 4, and 1 it’s hard to make time for romance. Like other parents, we have other things going on besides just having kids. We have work and caregiving and household and extracurriculars and therapies and doctors appointments. Sometimes being all romantical is not even on the radar.

But I don’t want to wake up someday when all my babies are grownups and wonder who in the world this stranger is in my house. I have no desire to just have a roommate.

So we are attempting to bring the sexy back in whatever ways we can to our relationship. Mr. Wonderful has really picked up his game as of late. He’s started doing all those little things that he knows I will love or that he thinks will show me appreciation, and let me tell you–that stuff works!

I got this text recently and it just made my day: 

(It’s a dozen roses if you didn’t catch that!)

And then he bought me some ice cream sandwiches because he saw I was running low. This doesn’t sound like a big deal to the outside observer but to me it’s huge! I like to end my day taking a bath with an ice cream sandwich. If I’m out I will go all un-caffeinated on you.

Don’t judge, it’s how I roll. 

And because he’s been home more than I have lately, he’s been doing a large portion of laundry–the bane of my existence. That is sexy folks!

We are trying to get back in the habit of a weekly date night, even if it’s on a Wednesday at noon since that’s when we have childcare. Babysitters could bankrupt us if we didn’t.  

 (Evidence of actual Date Night: we went out for sushi sans children)

We’re attempting to remind each other why we fell in love in the first place. 

This wasn’t by any agreement or conscious decision on our part. It just seems to be happening and like all cycles, feeds into itself creating more romance which creates more opportunities for romance. So we’re going with it.

Because I actually like this guy and I’d like to keep him around for quite awhile. 

 (Photo credit Meredith Shafer 2015) ©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

I would love to connect with you on Instagram and Twitter-come say hi!

6 thoughts on “Romance…Parent-Style

  1. Doing the laundry is super sexy! I think more partners need to catch on to this tip 🙂 My husband and I try and make date nights regular too – lunch time run at the lake when kids are at school and childcare day, or just cooking a nice separate dinner for us when the kids have eaten and gone to bed. So much nicer eating without someone whinging about vegetables or throwing their food on the floor!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

