Waiting Room

As I stood in line at Panera, my regular coffee place on the seven year old’s OT days since it’s next door to therapy, I had time to think about waiting. It seems I’ve been doing a lot of the stuff lately and frankly (as my friend Amy would say right here, “Don’t call me Frankly!”), I don’t enjoy it.

Is there anyone out there who does?

Waiting in lines, waiting for the mail, waiting for pay day (can I get an amen here?), waiting for breakthroughs and returned calls and lights to change. We all do a lot of waiting.

This calls for patience on our parts and that is something I’m terrible at. I’m working on it but it’s slow going friends. I fully admit I’m an instant gratification kind of gal. I’ve waited for exactly thirty seconds and I’m ready to walk out the door. Hello!

But as I get older (and hopefully, wiser) I am learning about the Waiting Room. This is the place you go when you’re waiting for one of the aforementioned things to happen. Instead of pacing from one side to the other of it like a wild caged animal as I usually do, gnashing my teeth and complaining the whole way, I’m trying to shift my perspective to one of gratitude for this room.

The Waiting Room, if we’re patient enough to notice while we’re in it, is fully stocked with important and necessary items for our journey. We need to be learning and storing up and preparing while we’re in that room. I have a feeling that if we don’t there’s the possibility our time in the room might get extended. Or we might be sorely disappointed when we exit.

That room, that Waiting Room is where change happens, often before we know it. Circumstances outside that room are changing and moving and morphing into directions and places and people while we’re in our Waiting Room cocoon. We often find ourselves facing trouble or the unknown or something that makes us turn up our nose when we exit. 

When that happens I would posit two questions to you:

1) Did you leave the Waiting Room too early, growing impatient with yourself and the process and the reasons God may have allowed you time in there in the first place?

2) Did you learn what you were supposed to while you were there?

If things aren’t going the way you hoped or planned or thought, ask yourself those questions. Maybe you won’t have the answer you wanted but you might have a new direction.

Wait.

Hope.

Learn.

Breathe.

And wait some more if you have to. When it’s finally time to leave the Waiting Room, it will be that much sweeter and more wonderful than you could imagine.

(photo credit YouTube) ©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

I would love to connect with you on Instagram and Twitter, swing by and say hi! 

4 thoughts on “Waiting Room

  1. I’m a terminally early person, so I am always waiting for something or someone. It takes a bit to make me anxious while waiting. Right now I’m waiting for an answer that seems to be lingering longer than my patience, and I have to refocus, and remember 1. God is never later, neither is he ever early like me. 2. If the worst happens, I always have Jesus. 3. The sun will likely come up tomorrow, so find something positive and move on.
    Cheesy, I know…😊. Confessions from the overly, obsessively prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AMEN (to the payday but also, everything else in this post)! I always say I am as impatient as they get. My blood is half Irish, half Italian, so you could imagine the way I get when waiting lol. Love this piece though. The Waiting Room doesn’t sound half bad now that you’ve said it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

