Confidence

There is a four year old red head in my house who is a princess and a mermaid, a ninja and a spy. She runs like her Mama (which is to say awkwardly and slow, but don’t tell her. I want to be there when she catches a glimpse of herself for the first time.), fights like her brothers, is serious like her daddy and has a confidence that I’m so proud of.

She thinks she’s right 100% of the time. It’s awesome and a little scary all at once. This little girl already thinks that she can rule the world. Not one day, but right now if she chooses.

I’m so pleased about this. 

You might be saying what?! I know, it makes for some hair-pulling-out, frustrating, give-myself-a-timeout parenting oftentimes, but the young lady she is becoming is going to be one that can navigate whatever world she finds herself in. As a Mama of a daughter, as a woman grateful to other women who went before me and broke glass ceilings and paved pathways, as a female who has navigated male-dominated careers and jobs and schools, I (mostly) don’t mind this strong will of hers. 

Because I know that if I can teach her to have a tender heart toward hurting people, show her that even one person can make a difference, guide her to serving others in some capacity, along with her strong will and absolute confidence, she will indeed rule the world. Not with an iron fist, but with a velvet glove.

God bless all the Mamas of strong-willed children out there. It’s a tough road to the finish line but just wait and see what kind of human being emerges-I bet you’re going to be so proud!

PS, This is the outfit I let her leave the house in yesterday, notice the skirt and the boots (that are two sizes too big) are sequined–she is my daughter! Talk about your big, bangin’ confidence!!!

(Photo credit Meredith Shafer) ©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

I would love to connect with you on Instagram and Twitter, come say hi!

3 thoughts on “Confidence

  1. My daughter used to regularly wear a bike helmet out and about, then there were boots, mismatched clothes, and the red sequined dress that is two sizes too big that she puts a green t-shirt under! Yep, been there! My son also loves these black muck boots that are too big for his sister, and smell absolutely terrible. But they learn independence that way, so I figure, hey, whatever! My daughter is definitely strong-willed, and my son is a little bit, but I think he is less so than his sister. Great job, mama, for letting your daughter have her head! She will thank you when she is older!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, the challenge that a lot of parents forget, I think, is that we need to look at more than just behavior now, but are working towards who our children will be. I keep this in mind every day when dealing with these little quirks.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

