Procrastinators Unite…Maybe Tomorrow

Confession time: I am a classic procrastinator. As if you didn’t know😉

If I’m not interested in the thing in supposed to be doing, I procrastinate by watching copious amounts of Netflix with Mr. Wonderful, painting my nails, blogging, Instagramming, and (gasp!) cleaning. And y’all know I am not fond of cleaning. Sometimes I just need the pressure of a deadline squeezing me from all sides to finish things.  

 (Photo credit omghow)
But sometimes I wait so long that the squeezing becomes untenable. And the deadline looms like a black cloud and I just shut down.

Ladies and gents, I’m may be there. I’m not sure though because I’m procrastinating taking a hard look at things around here.

I’m procrastinating some of my day job stuff. I’m procrastinating writing. And laundry. Stupid laundry! This should tell you how desperate things have become at my house in the laundry realm–this is my second post today that mentions laundry. 

 (Photo credit etsy.com)

Are y’all super-organized-early-arriving-get-everything-done-two-weeks-before-it’s-due types? If so, color me impressed. And shoot me some ideas about how to get organized. 

 (photo credit organizemyhouse.com)

If you’re a procrastinator like me, how do you bust out of the procrastinating in time to get stuff done?  

I know sometimes creative types like myself have troubles in this area. This knowledge further fuels my procrastinating because I tell myself this is normal. Also there’s the whole four kids and caregiving for my hubby that I sometimes use as an excuse to let things go. 

And if we’re being really honest, because this is just between us, sometimes I feel like since I’m a grownup now, I have days where I just don’t feel like adulting. Or being responsible.  

 (Photo credit lookhuman.com)

Today is a day where adulting feels slightly beyond my grasp. I think I may see what’s on Netflix… 

 (photo credit someecards.com)

©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

Swing by Instagram and Twitter to say hi!

4 thoughts on “Procrastinators Unite…Maybe Tomorrow

  1. Set a timer and attack something you don’t want to do for 10 minutes. When the timer goes off, you give yourself permission to quit. You have at least done 10 minutes more of whatever it is than you would have. Of course, if you want to keep at it, go for it! Reward yourself with time spent on something you want to do. Repeat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

