Take Care 

After being down for the count this weekend after a little surgery I had the humbling realization that I might not be Wonder Woman. 

 (photo credit etsy.com)

I might not be able to do everything for everybody all of the time. I may not be someone who can pour herself into all those around her constantly and consistently. All the time. Day after day. 

No one can.

I realized that I needed that reminder to slow down and take care of myself because I haven’t been doing very much of that lately. And it shows in my patience. And in my kindness. And in my attitude. 

 Because when all I’m doing is taking care of everyone around me at the expense of myself, everyone pays. 

So I’m going to remember to do some things for myself, even in the midst of the crazy around here. This is sort of a Bill of Rights of Self Care, if you will. 

1. I will take time for myself. Even if I don’t know how to fit it in, I will squeeze out that precious commodity of time for me. I’m worth the time, and it’s the only way I won’t crush my kids like bugs some days. 

 (photo credit skinny mom)

2. I will remember and embrace the things that made me…me. Taking time to do the things I love–like walking and being artsy and playing music and meeting girlfriends for coffee–these things bring me joy and make me feel like I am more than Mama. I love being Mama and I throw myself into it so much that I lose myself in that role sometimes. I need to do the things that remind me of who I am. 

 (photo credit craftingzuzzy.blogspot.com)

3. I will enjoy each moment as it comes. Each minute that passes is one I’ll never get back. With myself. With my kids. With my husband. Choosing to embrace all that is right now is a way of not getting too wrapped up in what’s going wrong but focusing on what’s going right. 

(Photo credit Meredith Shafer)

 
4. I will breathe. Deeply. Before I jump into things, when I get too overwhelmed, when I need a minute to gather my thoughts, I will take a deep breath. Pause. Relax. 
 (photo credit squidoo.com)

5. I will give myself a break. When it’s all falling apart, I will let myself off the hook. I will remind myself that I am a woman of faith and things are coming together and I’m doing the best I can. And when it seems to be going wrong, I’ll rely on that faith to get me through the day or hour or situation. 

 (photo credit Refinery 29)

Be sure to put yourself on the To Do List–you are important, friends, and you can’t care for your loved ones unless you first take care of yourself. 

 (photo credit someecards.com)

©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

Swing by Instagram and Twitter to say hi!

2 thoughts on “Take Care 

  1. You have said it all so well! I would only add that when you have had a medical procedure, it ALWAYS takes longer to recover than the doctor (who has never had the procedure and doesn’t have 4 kids) says it will. Also, pain is tiring. Do give yourself a break. You are a woman and most women I know come pretty close to Wonder Woman most of the time. We have no choice! Have a happy day looking for those precious moments.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

