Writer’s Blah

With January rapidly approaching and my sophomore effort at being an author not even close to finished, I’m way too Zen to be this far from my goal. 

I should be more nervous.

I don’t even have writer’s block–I have writer’s blah. Nothing I’m writing–when I even write–seems to be too terrific. My Internal Editor is in full force and effect and she is loud. And demanding. And annoying. She hasn’t made an appearance for awhile and she chooses now to show up?

I’m so over her.

In my procrastinating–which many artists, dreamers, writer’s and creative types will tell you is a necessary part of the process–I’ve come up with my Top 7 Ways to Avoid Writing Altogether. 

 (photo credit daniellaporte.com)

1. Clean stuff. I loathe cleaning but when I’m under the gun it sure seems like I have a cleaning emergency. This week alone I have finished my girly Harry Potter under the stairs closet and started going through kids’ clothes to donate. Who is this woman and what has she done with my domestically challenged self?! 

 (photo credit Meredith Shafer)

2. Writing on my blog. I have been so neglectful of my blog this fall and now it seems I’m brimming with ideas. I can’t stop. Someone help me.

3. Cleaning out my email inbox. Why oh why do several of my procrastination techniques involve cleaning? It must be a sickness. And why can’t I just do this all the time?

4. Checking new releases on Netflix. Yep, if I’m already “working” in my jammie pants and am burrowed into the nest in our bed and I’m tired of cleaning out my inbox I tend to need to see what’s new on Netflix. It’s all about being at the forefront of trends. 

Because that will help me write. 

 (photo credit buzzfeed.com)

5. Drinking coffee. You wouldn’t think drinking coffee would help my procrastination…but it does. I can tell myself to linger over a cup of liquid sanity in the stillness of the morning before everyone’s awake like no one’s business. Or tell myself just one more cup. Because if you’re not shaky it’s not enough coffee.  

 (Photo credit buyhimthat.com)

Speaking of, I think I’ll grab another cuppa joe while I procrastinate finishing this list of procrastination techniques… 

©Copyright Meredith Shafer 2015

Swing by Instagram and Twitter to say hi!

3 thoughts on “Writer’s Blah

  1. Cleaning emergencies – I love it. I *needed* to clean out the cabinet above our refrigerator in preparation for our 8 weekend house guests and 10 additional Thanksgiving dinner guests (none of whom can reach said cabinet without a stool.) This of course required me to also unload the entire china cabinet, at which point my husband asked from where all this stuff was coming. No surprise, I wanted to quit halfway through… A long way of saying, you’re not alone.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

